January 2020 ALDE-PACE newsletter available!


 ▪ ALDE group’s Rik Daems was elected President of PACE for the next two years. The group will work hand in hand with the new President to reinforce the role of the Assembly, to protect human rights and defend democracy in all member states.  
 ▪ ALDE-PACE supported Jacques Maire (France) to lead the group and renewed the composition of its bureau for a two-year mandate. 
 ▪ ALDE reinforced its positions in committees and sub-committees of the Assembly. For the first time since 2011 liberals will chair two PACE committees.
 ▪ Olivier Becht (France) and Michael Aastrup Jensen (Denmark) will chair the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media, and the Monitoring Committee respectively. 
 ▪ By the end of the January session ALDE confirmed its position as the third largest group of the Parliamentary Assembly with 92 members from 28 member states. 
 ▪ During the January session ALDE members successfully presented two reports at the plenary. Since the October part-session, group members tabled seven motions for a resolution to serve as a basis for PACE future work.

Download the newsletter to learn more.

Watch video address by Jacques Maire, ALDE-PACE President (English) (French)


Telling the CoE’s story: Iulian Bulai, leader of ALDE-PACE
Parliamentary Assembly Backs Ovchynnykova’s Call for Ocean Protection
Eerik Kross report calls for sanctions on persecutors of Vladimir Kara-Murza